November 12, 2012 Workout / Protein Bar Review

Posted: November 12, 2012 in Workouts
Tags: , ,

Based on my performance at the swim meet this past weekend, I’ve decided to tweak my AMP90 workouts to target specific areas that I believe were lacking in the sprints. Sprints require an explosive start and turn, and the Butterfly is probably the most taxing of all the strokes on the body’s core. Box Jumps and Jumping Squats can transfer well to improved explosiveness on the starting blocks, and my core will be targeted by abdominal work and swim tubing exercises. I still believe my workouts should begin with an effort to improve aerobic capacity (preferably running if weather allows) followed by strength development and ending with a metabolic conditioning set. Following this guideline, and targeting the sprint specific needs of my races, I designed the following workout for today:

WARM-UP:

  • 4 Rounds of 2 Minute Skipping / :30 second rest
  • try to string together as many double unders as possible in the 2nd minute of each round

STRENGTH:

  • 3 – 3 – 3 – 3 – 3 Hang Cleans @ 165lbs
  • 3 – 3 – 3 –  3 – 3 Weighted Box Jumps (with a 25lbs weight vest)

CONDITIONING:

  • Tabata (:20 work at max effort / :10 rest)
  • 8 Rounds of Swim Tube Dryland Exercise
  • 8 Rounds of Jumping Squats
  • 8 Rounds of AbMat Situps

 

Another experiment this past weekend involved the protein bars I pack as snacks during the long waits for my races. Usually, the consistency of protein bars rivals saw dust and the flavour can be bland once you get past the chocolate coating. To my surprise, Zing Bars tasted amazing and are gluten-free. My favourite flavour is Chocolate Coconut…here’s the link to check it out for yourself. http://www.zingbars.com/flavors-and-types/

Leave a comment