June 17, 2013 Open Water Swim

Posted: June 17, 2013 in Workouts
Tags: ,

This past weekend I was able to join a group of triathletes in an early morning, open water swim in Lake Wilcox. It was my first open water swim in years and my first time swimming with a full sleeve wetsuit. The set up at Lake Wilcox includes a buoy line running the length of the lake (1km) with buoys every 25 meters. I felt like I had found a secret triathlete playground as there were probably 50+ athletes swimming, biking and running in the area.

The swim itself was great. I was able to maintain my stroke and felt very buoyant with the full sleeve suit. I only swam 800m but will definitely attempt the full lake crossing next outing. The group is made up of athletes of all skills and fitness levels, and they were very supportive so it’s motivating to continue to train with the team. I’m looking forward to next weekend’s swim.

After the 800m swim, I came home and got ready for a long(ish) run. I decided to challenge myself by running “the loop” which includes a long incline of at least 1.5 km that always makes my want to quit. I made it though the run with an average pace of 5’34”. I’m feeling more confident that I’ll be able to get in shape for my races this summer.

swimmers_ows

Leave a comment