June 10, 2013 Back in The LAB

Posted: June 9, 2013 in Workouts

Since making a career change 3 months ago, my workout regimen and competition schedule were completely disrupted. Although I was able to continue some indoor treadmill run workouts, I had to miss both the Provincical and National Masters Swimming Championships. The adjustment to a new job, new working relationships and a 1.5 hour commute to downtown Toronto meant my noon swim workouts had to be sacrificed. Now that I have the first three months under my belt and the warm weather is beckoning, I’ve returned to the LAB to improve my fitness level and set some new goals for the summer / fall season.

I’m thinking an open water swim race would be a good goal since I still don’t think I can fully commit to train and compete in a triathlon this season. The challenge for me this summer will be to find a pool and some open water swim sessions. The pool at Base Borden has limited the amount of lane swim time available to civilians so open water swims on the weekends may be my best option. I know of 2-3 groups that train in the areas of Caledon, Aurora and Milton, while the race I’m targeting is in August in Orillia.

To get ready for that race (and any others that look interesting along the way), I’ve gotten back into training with the following June workouts:

June 1 – 5km treadmill run (28:08 / 5’37” pace)
June 2 – 3km run (15:53 / 5’18” pace)
June 6 – 3km run warmup (17:35 / 5’43” pace) + 4 Rounds of (5 Hang Cleans @ 100 / 5 Chinups / 5 KB Swings)
June 8 – 4km run warmup (21:38 / 5’24” pace) + 3 Rounds of (4 Box Jump Burpees / 5 Jerks / 6 Toes to Bar)

IMG_00000083_edit

Leave a comment