AMP90 Strongman Training

Posted: November 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

I recently got to add some new equipment to The LAB, so I designed a workout this morning to test out a few ideas. I’ve been interested in adding some “Strongman” training to my workouts, so I’ve included the Log Press, Farmers Walk and Tire Flips to today’s session. I was also going to add a heavy sled push / pull, but the recent rain has left the field muddy and I don’t want to tear up the ground and draw unwanted attention (not that a 200lb man flipping a tractor tire doesn’t draw some strange looks in the neighbourhood).

Here’s what my workout looked like today:

Strength Work: Bench Press 10 x 3 @ 225lbs (finished week 2 of Smolov Jr. progression)

Strongman:
3 Rounds (not timed)
– Farmers Walk with 2 75lb Barbells (approx. 25ft)
– 2 Log Press @ 170lbs
– 6 Tire Flips
– 5 Medicine Ball Slams @ 16lbs

Beautiful Day for a Workout:
WODSetup

Farmers Walk:
FarmersWalk

Log Press:
LogPress

Tire Flip:
TireFlip

Leave a comment